jump to navigation

2010-2011 School Year September 2, 2010

Posted by mrsmerritt in Lessons Learned, Other random stuff.
trackback

When the school year started I had 20 native speakers throughout the day. This was the most I had ever had. I was very overwhelmed at the prospect. While I probably had enough books, I didn’t have enough books on tape which is my bridge activity. There is that gap between reading and speaking. I believe that having them follow along with a book on tape for a week or so will bridge the gap faster.

I went to my principal with my various concerns, the leading one was that native speakers were taking over the classes that were designed for monolingual students. In an unprecedented move, she agreed with me and transferred every bilingual student out!

I do have another Junie B packet to add to the collection here. However, given that I have no students using this curriculum this year I will not be actively adding anything else. To anyone who may be using these packets, good luck! I hope you have a great year! You can contact me directly from this site and I’ll help in anyway I can.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

