jump to navigation

Leveling my books January 30, 2009

Posted by mrsmerritt in Lessons Learned.
trackback

I needed to have my books leveled. Frankly, it didn’t matter so much how accurate the placement was, as long as it was consistent. If all my books were leveled by the same criteria then I could compare them to each other.

 

Someone led me to this website http://www.renlearn.com/store/quiz_home.asp  The other middle school in my district does AR. It is some sort of mandatory reading program that all their students have to do. This is where they buy their system from.

 

Don’t get too excited by the quizzes available on this website. It is extremely expensive to be part of this program. The only use I have for this page is it helps me level my books.

 

I have found it easiest to search by author.

 

I just used round yellow stickers on the front of each book with the grade level.

 

I have found my students are not really interested in the grade level. They want to read the easiest books I will let them get away with. They judge ease by size.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

